Kindness; alcoholism, choice or disease?

A moral dilemma!

I listened to Angie Best talking about her husband, George Best, last night. She said the alcoholism is a choice not a disease. I was always led to believe it was a disease. I suppose another way of looking at it would be what is the kindest view, one that supports recovery. Again I’m not sure. 

I know from my own experience that mental illness isn’t a choice. Many people consider it to be a choice of mind. It’s not and many who have suffered would testify to this.

Maybe alcoholism is the only way people can cope with a torment that we can’t understand or see.

Leave a Reply

